SS501 released their official second Japanese album All My Love on May 13, 2009. A promotional tour was also held in Japan support of the album. They later released the album Solo Collection, consisting of the individual members' songs. Following its release, the members dissolved into their solo activities. They later reunite to embark on their first Asia tour,[6] visiting Seoul, Tokyo, Taiwan, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

The group's mini album Rebirth was released in two part: a limited and a full edition. The former was released on the 20th of October[7][8] with the latter on the 22nd. The limited special edition album included two posters and a 100 page photo diary. SS501 promoted the album with the single "Love Like This"; the song went on win two Music Bank awards and one Inkigayo Mutizen in November. Promotional activities for the album ended on November 29, 2009.

Kicking off 2010, SS501 held a concert in Thailand before holding their final concert in Seoul to conclude their Asia Tour. Although the release of their new mini album was planned to be on May 1, 2010 (a nod towards "501" in the group's name), the date was pushed back in order to "add finishing touches". They also performed at the 2010 Dream Concert later that month. Due to the fact that Kim Hyun Joong was still recovering from a previous injury, they sang two ballads instead of the rumored come back track. A day after their performance at the Dream Concert, one of their mini-album tracks, "Let Me Be The One" was leaked on the internet. Not long afterwards, the teaser for the comeback track was unveiled. The third mini album, "Destination", was finally released on May 24, 2010. Their first win for their title track "Love Ya" was during their second week of promotion in Music Bank, on June 11, 2010. They also took first place the following week. On June 18, 2010, Daesung Entertainment announced that SS501 would end their "Love Ya" promotions due to contract expiry with DSP on June 7, 2010.

Starting with the group's leader Kim Hyun Joong, majority of the members began to leave DSP Entertainment. Kim was the first to leave, signing with KeyEast Entertainment. This was followed by Park Jung Min to join CNR Media, Kim Hyung Jun for S-Plus Entertainment, and Heo Young Saeng and Kim Kyu Jong both signing with B2Ment. Although the members are under different companies, SS501 will retain its name and will still produce songs. All of the members' companies have stated that SS501's activities will be top priority in their contracts.[9]

On October 2010, Kim Hyung Jun announced that SS501 will be back in early 2011 with a new album.[10] Regardless, the members are working on their solo endeavors for the time being. Kim Hyun Joong wrapped up filming the drama Playful Kiss as Baek Seung Jo, the main male lead along with Jung So Min as Oh Ha Ni, the main female lead, meanwhile it was confirmed that members, Heo Young Saeng and Kim Kyu Jong will be holding fanmeetings in countries across Asia. Park Jung Min's comeback solo album Not Alone was originally supposed to be released back in November 2010, but due to North Korea attacking South Korea, CNR Media pushed back the date to January 20, 2011 to allow Park Jung Min to add more songs to the album. Park Jung Min was also involved in a musical 'Bonds Of Boys' in Japan as an exchange student from 18 November - 23 November. Kim Hyung Jun was in musical 'Cafe-In' in Korea from 24 November 2010 - 23 January 2011 as two characters: Ji Min and Jeong Min.

Lately, Kim Hyung Jun confirmed in and interview on Sports World that SS501 will be returning in the first half of 2011. “When our individual activities and promotions end, the members of SS501 will reunite in the first half of 2011 with a new album. We will also hold concerts with the album promotions.” ~Hyung Jun