A pop punk band of Stillwater, Oklahoma based, The All-American Rejects were originally formed by Tyson Ritter and Nick Wheeler who discovered that both of them shared profound interest in music when they got to know each other during their high school years. Looking for additional players in their newly established project, these two gifted young guys eventually picked Mike Kennerty to be the group's guitarist and Chris Gaylor to replace drummer Tim Campbell, making the band's formation fixed as a quartet. Immediately working together to compose their own songs with Tyson as the vocalist/bassist and Nick in guitar/keyboard/programming task, they spent the rest of 1990s holding some live performances around the town while also recording a few demos that showcased their brand of scrappy, stylish guitar-pop with the goal to self-release their initial effort.

Accomplishing their objective to launch an indie album by the spring of 2000, The Rejects gradually built a large local fanbase that later led them to be the opening act for The Flaming Lips and Caroline's Spine. Next releasing an EP entitled "Same Girl, New Songs" in 2001 followed by a tour around Midwestern America, the band satisfyingly took a step further when they wereable to gain the attention from Doghouse Records which they thus signed with to work on their international debut album. A self-titled one, this composition surprisingly scored a great result when it came up on October 1, 2002, breaking into the top 40 of the Billboard 200 beside securing the 8th rank on the Top Heatseekers chart. However, it was through one of its tracks entitled "Swing, Swing" that the quartet finally hit the mainstream as the single managed to enter four Billboard charts in 2003, unquestionably bringing them to widespread popularity all over the globe.

The tremendous success they had achieved apparently attracted DreamWorks Records and within a short time the personnel found themselves signed to the company which then re-released "The All-American Rejects" in 2003 with a bonus track of the acoustic version of "The Cigarette Song" in its British edition. After taking a two-years hiatus to hold numerous shows across the country, the band marked their comeback in 2005 through their sophomore effort, "Move Along", on July 12 under Interscope Records. Containing 12 impressive songs, including "Dirty Little Secret", the album instantly sold for thousands of copies to finally be certified gold by RIAA